Not the words I wanted to hear!

“It’s basal cell carcinoma”. Not the words I expected or wanted to hear this morning!  This is from the 2nd biopsy?, I ask the nurse.  Yes it is, she answers.  You will be scheduled for MOHS surgery for your cancer as soon as possible, she tells me.

My mind is racing!  So many thoughts!  How can this be?  This past week has all been for nothing!  Being so diligent and careful taking care of my leg incision.  Working and walking on a leg that screams with every step!

I am tired, so very tired! Tired of being cut piece by piece!  Tired of this hurt and pain!

2 thoughts on “Not the words I wanted to hear!

  1. It’s okay to be tired of everything you are going through. You are the patient, and struggling to be the strong nurse at the same time. Please take time to care for yourself…you are as important as every single patient you ever treated. I am sorry to hear the bad news and I will continue to follow to see how you are doing.

  2. I’m sorry to hear this news! I agree with the above comment – it’s okay to be tired, and fed up. It’s okay to be/to feel any single thing at any given moment. This is about you and your health, and no one can feel it for you. Please know that I am praying and sending healing energy and positive thoughts your way.

Leave a Reply

